First Light

Released 2009
  1. Ode to Spring
  2. Catch the Light
  3. First Light
  4. As the Doves Fly
  5. Wheel of Time
  6. Heaven's Rain
  7. Over the Horizon
  8. Whispering Trees
  9. Spanish Castle
  10. Song for my Father

After ” At the Edge of the Cornish Sea,” I slowly cultivated and planted seeds for this work. The album includes many pieces I have waited years to record. I am very excited to present them with the accompaniment of a full ensemble that I have dubbed ” The Majestic Ensemble.” Pieces include my Flamenco inspired guitar driven set closer “Spanish Castle,” lush atmospheric Harp based “First Light,” that was inspired by an incredible sunset I saw in the Jordan Valley in Israel, Celtic inspired ” Whispering Trees,” and a tribute to my late father who sadly passed away a few years ago called
” Song for my Father.”

The album is about celebration, mourning, our collective journey on the great wheel of time and cherishing the moment. Instruments include Celtic Harp, guitar, mandocello, violin, keyboards, bass, drums, percussion, voices, penny whistle, clarinet and bowed psaltery. This is music of passion and love.

  • Produced by: David Helfand and Beau Eastlund
  • Engineering, mixing and graphic design: Beau Eastlund, Cozy Studios, Oregon
  • Mastered by: Don Latarski

Purchase this album

Buy this CD directly from the artist for $15 (If you order any combination of three or more CDs, you may take $2 off the price of each CD). Please add $2 shipping and handling with your order. Send check or money order to: David Helfand, 370 W. 17th Ave., Eugene, OR 97401, USA
Also available online